It feels weird to have been in the hospital. I actually missed it last night and this morning, missed hearing Glitter’s runaway horse heartbeat and missed the nurses checking up on me. Thankfully I have good friends, including you bloggers, who helped the last 24 hours feel less lonely. I slept for 11 hours last night, then took a 2-hour nap this afternoon. That’s more than I’ve slept since last fall! I was so wiped out from my all-nighter the first night in the hospital. My hand is bruised from the IV and my butt has a huge black spot from one of the two steroid shots. I’m also having serious hip pain, not just at night but throughout the day now, and some leg and stomach cramps. I’m very grateful to have come home still pregnant though, and for baby girl to be healthy and still in my womb.

This morning I made coffee and got to work on stuff I rarely have time to do because of work, like plan meals for my upcoming family weekend, buy baby shower gifts for my yoga friends, do some budgeting and finalize my baby shower catering order. Throughout the day several packages were delivered for the shower, including the replacement crib part for the one that arrived broken. I did four loads of laundry (carefully and slowly), ate comfort food and emailed my boss about a modified work duties, which she was supportive of. I even watched a Netflix movie in the middle of the day, the kitties curled up into balls on the couch with me.

I can’t wait to see my honey, who should be walking in the door from LAX in about an hour. I’ve missed her so much and I know she’s been struggling with not having been here while I was in the hospital. Last night we talked about how to move forward for the rest of the trimester in terms of her work schedule and doctor recommendations. I know we’ll be okay, but I am concerned about pre-term labor now. I’ve been looking over our hospital paperwork, refining my hospital bag list and doing some more nursery nesting. It’s not the same without J though and really looking forward to having her home with me. She’s planning on working from home tomorrow while I’m still recovering, and taking a break to put the crib together and hang the artwork I ordered from Papaya Art in the nursery. We received our crib mattress today, and I anticipate the room coming together a little more by tomorrow!

Despite the dreary LA weather and melancholy day, I’m really excited to see my mom and sisters this weekend. My mother is arriving tomorrow night and coming with us to a midwife appointment Friday morning. My midwife, who I saw yesterday in the hospital, told me she is going to put some acupuncture needles in me when I arrive at her office before my prenatal appointment (she also does Chinese medicine) to help me relax. I have to do a Glucose test as well, and in the afternoon J, my mother and I have an appointment here at home with my awesome doula. My sisters get in Friday night.

To put a little cheer in this post, here’s my baby shower menu and a few pics:

French Brunch:

Quiche Lorraine, Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

Roasted asparagus

Roasted potatoes with herbs

Rosemary Demi and raisin walnut loaf with honey herb butter

Assortment of pastries – Chocolate croissants, almond croissants, pain an chocolate

Fresh fruit salad

Lemon tart

Apricot blueberry tart 

Mimosas 

Sparkling lemonade

Most of it is being catered by La Maison du Pain, a great French bakery, and we’ll put together the rest. I’m excited to see friends from San Diego and all over.

Fetal monitor:
 

Hospital room service menu:

Here’s the nursery artwork:  

