How does this happen? I’m in disbelief. In four days, according to a chart I have that states the third tri starts at 26 weeks, 6 days, we’ll officially be in the home stretch. What?! I truly can’t believe it. I’ve felt a big change in the past week, literally. My stomach feels really big all of a sudden, it’s difficult to stand up or get out of bed, and I’m having a little trouble breathing. I can also only eat small meals or a snack in one sitting. I had a stomach bug earlier last week and in combination with the reduced appetite, I lost a pound and a half.

I actually posted a 25 week update with a bump pic last weekend, but accidentally posted in on the wrong day and didn’t get any comments, so I’m assuming most of you missed it. If you’re interested, it can be found here: https://floatalittle.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/glitter-25-weeks/

Tomorrow we are going to our first birthing class. I’m excited. J went away with a friend for the weekend and I hope she’s enjoying her alone time before things get real! I bought a birthing ball today, since my exercise ball is kept at my office (in case you’re wondering, it’s just a weighted exercise ball I got at Ross, not specifically for childbirth). After prenatal yoga today I had lunch with a woman from my class who is pregnant with twins with her female partner. It’s so nice to meet other lesbian mamas!

This is the perfect time to be settling into a new home, as we’re just finishing up some new furniture buying before starting to fill the nursery. Packages have also started to arrive from our baby registry. I’ve never had a registry before, and feel somewhat conflicted about it. It’s odd to ask people to buy me things, but at the same time, I’ve enjoyed getting other people baby and wedding gifts and we do need help with supplies. I love the idea of friends and family “showering” the baby with the things she needs, but I don’t want to be self-centered or a financial burden on my community. We also decided on a beautiful crib last night. I’m starting to think about the bigger nursery elements – a glider to match the crib, an area rug, and painting the dresser we already have to match the crib. I never in a million years thought I would be doing such things. It’s unchartered territory!

I have no energy to even get up out of my chair right now, but when I do, I’ll post some pics of our new apartment and some nursery items!

