The cool, windy LA weather made for a weekend that almost felt like fall back home. Halloween night I made spaghetti and meatballs the tradition of my grandmother. I was a vegetarian for fifteen years, vegan for some of that, but I’ve been enjoying eating farm-raised meat for the last few years. Most of the time I eat vegan meatballs, either frozen or homemade, but these real meatballs, with parsley and freshly grated Parmesan, were really incredible.

20141102-174809.jpg

The GF pumpkin spice donut holes also came out really well. They’re baked in mini muffin tins. They taste fried because they’re dipped in melted butter and covered in cinnamon and sugar. Seriously, so good.

20141102-174824.jpg

Here’s the recipe, although I’m not sure of the re-posting etiquette:

http://www.agirldefloured.com/2012/11/07/gluten-free-pumpkin-doughnut-holes/

On Saturday we headed downtown and did some community service. J was presenting at a career fair at the Inner City Arts school in downtown LA. Such a cool program. I hung out and folded origami while listening to J and her coworker talk to high school kids about becoming an architect.

I was cramping a LOT. Constantly, all day, as if I had my period. Last time I felt tiny sharp pains in one specific spot. Yesterday I did feel some of this, but mostly it was all over cramps for 36 hours straight. I was excited. I also noticed two distinct symptoms – my breasts were starting to get sore, and we’re progressively more sore throughout the weekend, and I started to feel breathless. Being breathless was my most prominent symptom when I was last pregnant; I would be short of breath just walking around the house.

Last night we went to see Gone Girl. I don’t like to ruin movies for people by going on and on about how great they are and raising expectations, but I’m telling you, this movie is great. I read the book when it first came out and loved it, but the trailer looked boring so I thought I’d be disappointed. For one, the trailer didn’t give too much away. Gillian Flynn has written two other books, Dark Places and Sharp Objects. If you liked Gone Girl, I highly recommend the other two. They’re a little more horror than GG, in fact GG is the mildest. It’s a psychological thriller but also just a drama. J, on the other hand, insists it’s the scariest movie she’s ever seen due to the well-played mind fucks featured througout, how husband and wife play each other ruthlessly. I could write an entire post just about this movie, but I won’t because I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. If you like psych thrillers, just read these books and see the movies (I think Dark Places is also being turned into a movie).

After the movie we went to the bookstore and I bought two wedding magazines, then went to La Boulange and split a grass-fed burger, greens, and pickles. I had a natural creme soda and J had a glass of wine. We looked through the wedding magazines and talked about venues. We’ve been so busy lately and it was nice having a weekend to ourselves. I love daylight savings!

20141102-205935.jpg

We had a discussion about when to test again last night (I’m going to gloss over it but it ended in a bit of an argument because I was so emotional and defensive, trying to plan for a BFN just in case, and J believes you should always assume the best and put forth positive energy). Anyway, we had a good night of sleep and at 5am I woke up and tested the very very faint line I posted this morning. I fell back asleep smiling, not wanting to wake J up, and a couple of hours later surprised her with the photograph. We had a celebratory breakfast of pumpkin pancakes and scrambled eggs with veggies and cheese.

I have a crazy week ahead – tomorrow I drive to Santa Ana in a full suit to testify in court which is very nerve-wracking. Tuesday morning after my first beta I have a training in Twin Towers jail (I work for Jail Services). Then I have three long 11-hour days. I’ve been so nervous about something bad happening during this long week, but I’m also so excited and hopeful that my Hcg will continue to climb and I’ll be successfully pregnant!

I hope the line gets darker. I want this so badly. We’ve been talking to the embies, continuing to ask them to stay put and stay healthy.

For those of you in So Cal, I hope you’re enjoying this cozy fall weather!

