***Update: 22 eggs were retrieved! J has recovered so well with some pain and cramping but nothing concerning. I made her soup for lunch and macaroni and cheese with tomato soup for dinner šŸ™‚ This evening I whipped up some vegan vanilla almond cupcakes for her as a retrieval day treat. That was the fun part of recovery! We also watched Knocked Up & Philomena – two movies in one day instead of work! We cuddled with the cats and each other for hours. J took doxycycline to prevent infection. I started progesterone tonight – exciting! Three times a day all the way through my blood pregnancy tests.

Today’s the big day! I’m sitting in the waiting room of our clinic and J is in surgery.

I’m not going to pretend my life is perfect – that’s a Facebook phenomenon I won’t allow in my blog. Our drive to the clinic for the egg retrieval was rough with a small disagreement and then me crying because I cry at anything these days thanks to the estrogen. We recovered but I’ll tell you, I’m ready for the IVF roller coaster to be over!

They took us into pre-opp and we met the anesthesiologists. They were very sweet. They went over J’s medical history and reviewed my progesterone schedule which starts tonight. J got changed into cute surgery wear and laid down on the cot to have her IV. I held her hand and talked about our fluffy little kitties to distract her. She said she was nervous but not too much. They put a fascinating thermometer on her forehead. It’s a small black strip that looks like a photograph negative and has tiny blue and green bars that change color with her temperature.

Our wonderful doctor came in to say hi and review everything. She checked J’s trigger injection site and said the allergic reaction wasn’t too bad. She also said she expects to collect 15-20 eggs and that they will fertilize the most mature of those. I think this is not too many but not too few so that’s good! They took her into the OR and I’m back in the cushy waiting room. I called J’s mom to give her an update and reassure her that I’ll take good care of her daughter for the rest of the day!

I’ll give an update later. For now I’m going to sit and send my beautiful amazing egg mama positive vibes!

